Government Commissioner and Deputy Government Commissioner

As of February 2020, St. Eustatius does not have a Governor nor does it have Commissioners. There is a Government Commissioner and a Deputy Government Commissioner, appointed by the Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations.

Ms. Alida Francis is appointed as Government Commissioner

Ms. Claudia Toet as Deputy Government Commissioner.

Government Commissioner Alida Francis and Deputy Government Commissioner Claudia Toet.

The Government Commissioner has the tasks and powers conferred to the island executive or the governor until determined by Royal Decree.

The government commissioner is responsible for the Governors’ cabinet, elections, census and civil registry, disaster management, public order and safety, legal affairs and ordinances, finance and taxes, airport, harbor, roads/ infrastructure, environment and nature management, building and housing control, registry private properties, telecommunication, energy and water distribution.

Ms. C. Toet is responsible for Education and Sport Compulsory Education, Public Health, Social Affairs, Culture, Labor, Senior Citizen care, Economic Affairs, Tourism, Agriculture, Animal Husbandry & Fisheries, Personnel Affairs, Government Information Services (GIS) including Protocol, Information Technology, Public Housing, Monument care, Preservation and Historic core, Waste Management, Warehouse and Workshop and Government buildings.

Ms Alida Francis, Government Commissioner
Ms Claudia Toet, Deputy Government Commissioner